5 things you don’t know about me

5 things about me

I was tagged quite some time ago by Veronica of Veronica’s Test Kitchen and must apologise for this rather late post. But, finally, here are five things most people don’t know about me:

  1. I was born in a small village in the southern state of Johor, Malaysia, of Chinese extraction. I have lived in Australia for the past 18 years, except for a year away back in Malaysia and a year in Italy.
  2. I now live in Perth, Western Australia, a city regarded as the most isolated capital city in the world. It is closer to travel to South-East Asia from here than to the eastern states of Australia.
  3. My career has been quite varied. I studied Agricultural Science but never worked in that field. Then, I studied Horticultural Science before pursuing a Master of Landscape Architecture and working in the industry for around 8 years. Now, I’m studying to be a chef!
  4. I love going against the grain and trying new things with food. I think the experimental streak in me comes from my mum, who is a great cook. My passion for cooking came from spending time in the kitchen with her. I love using warm and cold together, or sweet and savoury, or unusual combinations.
  5. I eat almost anything, including offal. There is very little I don’t eat or am not willing to try. I love vegetables, meat, seafood, game, DESSERTS, you name it.

I’ve been following the posts of the bloggers below and would like to hear more about them, so I’ll tag:

Nicole of Pinch My Salt

Patricia of Technicolor Kitchen

Paul of Eat Me!

Freya and Paul of Writing At The Kitchen Table

Elizabeth of Mommy Cooks

 

9 Responses to “5 things you don’t know about me”


  1. 1 Nicole April 2, 2007 at 7:39 am

    Thanks for sharing a little more about yourself, Steven! It might take me a while, but I’ll do my best to participate. Thanks for the tag! :-)

  2. 2 Paul April 2, 2007 at 9:43 am

    Thanks for tagging me Steven!! I’ll be posting my 5 things shortly.
    I have to think hard about this because I don’t want to incriminate myself (or my partner)!!!

  3. 3 veron April 2, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    Thanks for accepting the tag, Steven. It is so cool that you are studying to be a chef. I would love that opportunity too. It’s great that you learned from your mom, I wish I had the sense to do that when I was growing up.

  4. 4 Freya April 2, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Hi Steven! It’s nice to know a bit more about the wonderful food we’ve all been seduced by on your blog!
    Thanks for tagging me, unfortunately I’ve already been tagged twice but if you want to read the results, here’s the links (I completed one and then Paul did too):
    http://zombiesnack.blogspot.com/2007/02/yet-another-meme.html
    http://zombiesnack.blogspot.com/2007/01/heart-shaped-meme.html

  5. 5 Patricia Scarpin April 3, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Hi, Steven,

    Tks for tagging me, but I’ve already been tagged and posted the answers a while ago.

  6. 6 madchilli April 4, 2007 at 1:32 am

    Nicole, Paul: I look forward to your posts in the near future.

    Veron: I actually wanted to be a chef when I was a teenager before going to university so that has come full circle. A bit like you, I discovered that cooking is what I want to be doing. Thanks for tagging me. :)

    Freya, Patricia: Thank you both for letting me know.

  7. 7 Paul April 25, 2007 at 5:59 am

    Hi Steven,
    I put a twist on this, I got my partner to write about me!

  8. 8 Sheau June 17, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    Hi Steven,

    Thank you for your very nice comment on my flickr site of the new series of collaborative work I just posted recently. I always enjoy viewing your photos and occasionally reading your blog posts. Thank you for sharing. I am also born in Johor. I was born in JB. Have been living in the US for about 10 years now. Pursuing art and working in nonprofit field. Nice to knowing you. : ) Cheers. My husband and I are making a trip home this July+Aug to see family in JB. Do you plan to go back anytime soon?

  9. 9 Marianna November 19, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    I didnt know you spent a year in Italy!! Where exactly? Lucky you- that makes me jealous!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

