Grilled figs

Fresh figs

Okay, I finally succumbed and splurged on some figs. At A$3 each (I bought 4), they weren’t exactly the cheapest fruit but I just had to get some! It’s strange – actually more an abomination since I forked out so much money – that these fruit cost the earth. I guess it’s to do with the fact that they are fragile and easily bruised. You can’t harvest them with a machine like apples or oranges. At least I don’t think so. Everytime I drive by a fig tree with fruit ready for the picking, I’m filled with jealousy and my thoughts turn into those of a thief, wondering when I could return and steal some before the darn birds get to them. My sister does have a tree in her backyard and has given me some before because she doesn’t like them! Well, I’m not complaining… Trouble is, I’ve recently moved to another state.

If I had some blue cheese around I would not have hesitated for one moment and eaten the two together. Figs with blue cheese is a classic combination and the flavour of the two is just divine. Another classic partner of figs is prosciutto. The cheese I did have was mascarpone. Some quick research work yielded some simple recipes which utilised this with figs. A few recipes included a balsamic vinegar reduction which sounded fantastic.

Grilled figs with mascarpone and balsamic vinegar

Serves 4

4 large, or 8 small, ripe figs
100g mascarpone
100ml balsamic vinegar

Preheat grill. Wash and pat dry the figs. Make two perpendicular cuts in the form of an X halfway into each fig. Place on baking paper and grill for 2-3 minutes until figs are nice and soft but not mushy. Transfer to a serving plate. At this stage, you can continue the cuts almost all the way down to the base so the figs open up like a flower. Or leave the figs like I did.

Pour the balsamic vinegar into a small saucepan and bring to the boil. Reduce heat to low. Continue simmering until reduced to a third.

Scoop mascarpone onto plate and drizzle balsamic reduction around. You could also spread mascarpone on top of the figs if they were cut into a flower shape.

Grilled figs

I liked the flavour combinations here a lot. The sweetness of the figs was tempered by the acidity of the balsamic reduction and the mascarpone added richness. For me, the grilling didn’t add anything special. Next time, I would just have the figs fresh.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Grilled figs”


  1. 1 veron January 15, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    I love grilled figs…I usually have it with goat cheese but I should try mascarpone too. Never tried it with balsamic that sounds divine. Here was how mine turned out…

    Grilled Figs

  2. 2 madchilli January 16, 2007 at 1:03 am

    It’s also absolutely delicious with blue cheese, my favourite combination. The balsamic reduction turned out to be a nice addition…

  3. 3 bluespriite January 16, 2007 at 5:34 am

    You have an absolutely stunning blog.. :) looking forward to more posts.

  4. 4 madchilli January 17, 2007 at 12:18 am

    Thank you so much bluespriite! Glad you liked it :)

  5. 5 Elizabeth January 17, 2007 at 1:14 am

    Those figs look awesome! I have fresh goat cheese (thanks toa very good friend)and am off to the market in the morning for figs! I can’t wait.I stumbled upon your blog and love it!

  6. 6 Bruce January 18, 2007 at 2:19 am

    Great blog madchilli…love the high res photos. I’ve just discovered the joys of cooking at my grand old age and will keep my eyes on your work. Keep your tennis up too ; )

  7. 7 madchilli January 18, 2007 at 2:33 am

    Thanks Bruce. It’s never too late to start enjoying cooking.

  8. 8 bhagya99 March 22, 2007 at 4:55 am

    Tonight I shall grill some fresh figs with blue cheese, a bit of balsamic and then……..
    a drizzle of truffle infused honey on top

    yum!

  9. 9 madchilli March 22, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    That does sound delicious! Figs and blue cheese are made for each other. :)


  1. 1 Very(!) rustic fig and ricotta crostata « madchilli - live mad, eat chilli Trackback on January 29, 2007 at 9:03 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

